Vitamin D

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

A few months ago, I was approached by a client about his low levels of testosterone. He had mentioned that he and his wife were trying to procreate, which is cool, but they were having some problems. so he went and got his levels tested. When he came to me with this information I immediatley asked him if he was supplementing with Vitamin D.  After some guy talk about him procreating with his wife (just kidding…a little), I suggested he start taking Vitamin D3 in liquid form. A few days ago I received this email from him:

Hey Matt,
 
Hope things are going well for you @ Newtown.  I am going to be stopping in for an adjustment soon but I wanted to let you know that just from taking 7,000IU of vitamin D daily for a month my testosterone jumped from 320 to 460.  I am hoping that it will continue on an increasing trend so I am going to get both levels tested every 3 months or so.
 
Good blog posts by the way.

Vitamin D has been shown to improve mood, bone health (by increasing calcium absorption), regulate hormone levels, increase immune function as well as a host of other things. Vitamin D can be found in very few foods and we get most of it when ultraviolet rays from the sun hit our skins surface. Most people say they get enough sun and drink milk, so they do not need to supplement with vitamin D. There are two problems with this 1) If you live north of Gerogia, which I am assuming most of you do, you will never get enough sunlight for appropriate levels of Vitamin D. 2)Most species stop drinking milk after infancy, so why do you find it necessary to drink milk from another species into adulthood….weird….just saying. So if your like Bucky old and are interested in your testosterone levels, take some Vitamin D3 (liquid form), about 3,000-5,000 IU to start, go crazy this stuff doesn’t get toxic till the 50,000 IU level, I take about 8,000-10,000 IU daily.

If you are interested:

Reference: Lee, D, Tajar, A., et al. Association of Hypogonadism with Vitamin D Status: The European Male Ageing Study. European Journal of Endocrinology. January 2012. 166, 75-85.
 
Strength:

Deadlift 3 rep max

3,3,3,3,3,3

Conditioning:

“Annie”

50-40-30-20-10

Double unders (sub is 3x single unders)

situps

*12 minute cap

Core:

Plate twists 3×30 reps (15 per side)

Comments
  1. Lou Groves says:

    Why is Kasia always stalking me???

  2. Kasia says:

    I’m glad you added the fact that Vitamin D can be toxic in large doses. I didn’t really want to take care of Bucky in the hospital now that he’s aware of a magic testosterone increaser that he doesn’t need a prescription or psychiatric eval for.

  3. Bucky says:

    I don’t even know how to reply to that post. So, I’ll just say what comes to mind…. F Matt!!!

Leave a Reply

