Frank Spellman Olympic Weightlifting Meet Wrap Up

Posted: December 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

20121201-221510.jpg

I realized that most of you had no idea that CrossFit Newtown has a recognized weightlifting club by USA Weightlifting . I apologize for that, I’ve had my hand involved with a few different things and totally forgot to blog this very exciting news. This club is called The Rock Barbell Club. Currently, we can only offer Olympic Lifting classes during times when we are not holding CrossFit Classes. I have been running lifting classes for high school athletes on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 3-4:30. I would now like to offer it out to any unlimited member that can make it at that time. The classes are aimed at getting individuals better at the snatch and clean and jerk. If you are interested please let me know.

So now for the meet recap. This weekend Kasia, Steve M, and I competed in the Frank Spellman Weightlifting Meet. I was very proud of both of them. Kasia made 5 out of her 6 attempts (lifters get 3 attempts at the snatch, and another 3 at the clean and jerk), her best snatch was 54kgs/118 lbs and her best clean and jerk was 65kgs/143lbs, totaling 119kgs/261lbs. She won gold in her weight class and was awarded the best female lifter award (the cool bowl in the picture). Steve M also had a very successful day. He went 6 for 6 on his attempts (very rare and awesome), hitting a 80kg/176lbs snatch and a 120kg/264lbs clean and jerk for a 200kg/400lbs total. He also won gold in his weight class. Congrats guys!!! We are all so proud of you. As for me, my biggest success of the day was coaching two new athletes introduced to the sport of weightlifting from our box. I was more excited for them as they lifted then I was for myself. They both lifted well and really enjoyed themselves. Kasia and Steve showed some big time courage, lifting in front of a packed room of strangers for their first time. They gave it all they had, and I couldn’t be prouder. I hope to coach them in many more meets to come and get some of you competing as well. Congrats Kasia and Steve!

Benchmark:

“Cindy”
20 minute AMRAP
5 pull-ups
10 push-ups
15 squats

20121203-203342.jpg

Comments
  1. Mike Zavoluk says:

    Awesome job guys!

  2. Val Corace says:

    Fantastic! Congratulations!

  3. Steve P says:

    Congrats guys!

Leave a Reply

